(see page bottom for a 6 minute sample track download: 30 seconds of each of the album’s 13 tracks)

There aren’t many artists who’ve had such an important influence on today’s ambient music as the outstanding piano player and composer Harold Budd. Albums like his classical “Pavilion of Dreams“ or his collaboration with Brian Eno like “The Pearl“ are well known to many Electronic/Ambient musicians & listeners of the last few decades.

Especially fellow musicians Martin Juhls (aka Marsen Jules) and Rafael Anton Irisarri (aka The Sight Below), who were often heard talking about the influence that Budd‘s music had on them and how much respect and admiration they have for both the musician as well as his compositions. Out of this came the idea of paying respect to Budd in some way, to give something back to him. “Lost in the Humming Air“ is the result of this thought in form of a musical tribute; and it‘s a big honor to release this in the 50th year of Mr. Budd‘s career as a composer. We invited some of our favorite artists to contribute a song that, in some way, resembles the music of Harold Budd or channels the influence he had on them as musicians.

We are very glad that “Lost in the Humming Air“ has turned out to be a special selection of thirteen modern Ambient pieces, with illustrious contributors such as Mokira, Taylor Deupree, Deaf Center, Christopher Willits, Biosphere, Porn Sword Tobacco and Bvdub. While all of the tracks offer a unique perspective on how the now classical sounds of Harold’s music have been an influence in one way or the other, they still manage to maintain a sound that is closely connected to the individual musician. Deaf Center, known for their highly acclaimed albums on labels such as Miasmah and Type, contributed the dark and moody “Plateau”, which was originally the opening track of a rare live performance of the duo in 2009. Our longtime friend and highly respected fellow musician John Xela made an exception of not participating in compilation projects anymore with his sublime home listening piece “The Only Rose”, which resembles his earlier work for labels such as Neo Ouija and City Centre Offices.

For the first time ever, Brock van Wey, who has been one of our favorite producers for quite some time now, has collaborated with his mother Criss Van Wey, who played the piano for their heartbreaking elegy “My Father, My Friend”. We hope that, by releasing this record, we can give something back to Harold and maybe also help a younger generation of Ambient aficionados to discover the beauty of his timeless music.

All artists who contributed in this release donated their tracks. The profit of this CD will go to a charity project chosen by Harold Budd.

Release Date: 09 April 2012

Seven minute sampler track (30 seconds of each track)

Track Listing:
01 Deaf Center – Plateaux
02 Loscil – Rye Fields
03 Martin Fuhs – untitled.eleven
04 Biosphere – Det Var Kulmørkt Hjem
05 Xela – The Only Rose
06 Marsen Jules – Sunrise On 3rd Avenue
07 Andrew Thomas – Hushhh (Variation 2)
08 Mokira – Harold Dubb
09 Christopher Willits – Olancha Hello
10 Taylor Deupree – Sleepover
11 Rafael Anton Irisarri – Gloaming
12 Porn Sword Tobacco – Painting World War 3
13 bvdub & Criss Van Wey – My Father, My Friend

Additional Information: